Light and Dark

I came across this quote a few weeks back and I haven’t been able to get it out of my head since:

People who are unable to stand within the dark places of life, those who are always running towards their happy places, are the same things as candles without flames. There is no worth in a candle without a flame, and we only add the flame when there is darkness. Without darkness, there would be no need for warriors and angels. Warriors are not made because the whole world is happy and angels were not formed because there are no demons. Be of worth, have a flame.

A few years ago, I think I was one of those people who always ran towards this idea of a ‘happy place’ and it wasn’t until recently that I realised happiness isn’t a state of permanence. It is fleeting and cannot come by without any sadness to accompany. I always felt as though I needed to be absorbed by light to truly know joy, but never thought about how even the moon cannot shine without the darkness of the night. I know, this is all very clichΓ©, but it’s true. It’s one of those integral life lessons that you hear from every twenty-something year old but you pass off as being as pretentious and unnecessary, but it is necessary to hear.

At 16, had someone told me that I’d be living the life I am today, I actually would have laughed in their face. I never thought that I’d be able to take the good with the bad without obsessing/fixating over the bad. Nor that I’d be able to stand in the dark without expecting the light.

But, it has been 4 years. I’m not gonna say it’s a quick journey to suddenly feeling great, but you will feel better. Being able to just accept that there will be both good and bad and continuing with life anyway will truly do wonders for yourself.

There will be both light and dark in life and when you feel like you’re stuck only in the dark, become the light yourself.

Leave a Reply

