Cushions

I took a trip down to Primark after work a couple of weeks ago (not out of choice mind you), and I saw the home department and, I must admit, it completely blew my mind! There were so many cute things in so many cute colours that I practically had the heart-eyes emoji plastered all over my face. But, my wallet was not cooperating. I knew that I had a few bills to pay that week and I couldn’t realistically justify making this gigantic purchase, so I made myself a compromise: today I can buy two of my most favourite items and when my next paycheck comes through, I can return to buy two more. Obviously, the ‘Smile‘ cushion was the first thing I picked up and refused to let go of, and the second one ‘Believe You Can and You’re Halfway There‘, is the one my mum picked up and said best suited me.

Impulse purchases they may be, but they are a daily reminder that I don’t need to wake up every morning feeling like the sky is falling. I can wake up and accept that there will be some bad moments in the day, but that’s not to say I need to let it become a bad day. I just need to smile, take a dose of courage, and believe in myself to achieve what I set out to do for the day because if I’m honest with you all, nothing that bad ever really happens in life. Another human being literally has the same abilities as you do, so you needn’t fear when making a conscious decision to make a life for yourself that you want to see.

I know I keep reiterating this cliché like a broken record, but I’m serious when I say that visualisations of things that motivate you really do set the tone for the way that you carry yourself on a day-to-day basis. 

Leave a Reply

