February 2016

February 2016.

Already.

I know the month is not yet over, but my week ahead is way too packed for me to be able to schedule in this monthly review, so I might as well do it now while I have the time.

This month has brought with it many things, but mostly loss. Both physical and emotional in state, these losses had the ability to be paralysing, but what was most important, was the support through it all. Though only one person outside of home know of every tiny little detail, I have found that I do have people in my life who will silently stand by me without needing to know the details. I mean, I knew I had these people before, but it is during times like these that I realise just how much I rely on bouncing off the positive energies of those around me. Think of them a bit like this (Isaac on Augustus Waters in ‘The Fault in Our Stars‘):

But I will say this: When the scientists of the future show up at my house with robot eyes and they tell me to try them on, I will tell the scientists to screw off, because I do not want to see a world without him.

Sure, we can sing praises of the love between Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace, but none of that really and truly matches up with the love that Isaac has for Augustus, his best friend. His best friend for whom he’d stay blind. Obviously, I’m not saying that we should all be willing to give an eye for our best friends (but for mine, don’t doubt it for a second you three, I would gladly do it), but just that level of love that is so close to bordering on this deeper level that is both romantic and platonic in nature is what we need. These are the kinds of friends who have the ability to teach us, even in silence, that soulmates are not always romantic in nature.

So, this month, February 2016, with its many losses, has taught me one of life’s grandest lessons: love.

I pray that this month has been as good to all of you as it has been to me, and if it hasn’t been, I hope the next month will make up for it.

(featured calendar: ‘futile attempt at organising my life 2016‘ by Happy Jackson)

Leave a Reply

