Pack-a-Punch Soup

It has been a very long time since I’ve returned to this site. Honestly speaking, I kinda forgot I had a blog. But, I am hoping to make a comeback on here as part of this whole new year’s resolution jazz – also because cooking is therapy for me and at this moment in time, it’s something I’m in desperate need of. If you are interested in keeping up to date with my life outside of food blogging, here is my personal (well, I say personal but it’s not really that personal) instagram account, and the two projects I’ve been working on on there: akx95 | Spaces and Faces | 365daysofayesha. (will hopefully start to create some more personality on this blog so you all know who I am as opposed to this faceless and nameless person on the internet who posts some mediocre content sometimes) But, I digress, time to get into business and this soup that packs a right punch!

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp (15 ml) oil
  • 1 cup (160 g) diced onion
  • 1 tsp minced fresh ginger
  • 2 whole (120 g) carrots, peeled and chopped (I do them in circles)
  • Salt and black pepper (amount can be adjusted to your taste, I used 1/2 tsp of each)
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 sweet potato, peeled and diced
  • 1 potato, diced
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp curry powder
  • 5-6 cups vegetable stock (I literally use the Tesco brand one because it tastes the same as the costlier ones)
  • 1 cup lentils, thoroughly rinsed and drained
  • 4 cups kale
  • 1 tin of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • Handful of cilantro/coriander, roughly chopped (or do what I do and just rip it up with your hands) – optional garnishing
  • Lemon juice/fresh lemon slices – optional garnishing

Method:

  1. Heat a large pot over medium heat. Once hot, add oil, onion, ginger, pepper, and carrots. Season with salt and black pepper and stir. Cook for 3-5 minutes, stirring frequently, until onions are soft (they usually become nearly clear in colour).
  2. Add garlic and potatoes and stir. Cook for 3-4 minutes to brown slightly, and then add curry powder. Stir to coat. Cook 2 minutes more.
  3. Add 5 cups vegetable broth and increase heat to medium-high. Once at a low boil, add lentils, stir, and reduce heat to low. Simmer for 20-25 minutes, uncovered, or until lentils and potatoes are tender – if you are using red lentils, reduce this cooking time by about 5-10 minutes as they cook faster.
  4. Taste and adjust seasonings if needed – I added a tiny bit more salt because the potato really sucked it all in.
  5. If the soup has thickened too much, add remaining 1 cup vegetable broth, stir, and cook until warmed through.
  6. In the last few minutes of cooking, add the kale and chickpeas and cover to steam until tender but still vibrant green – about 2-3 minutes.
  7. Serve immediately as is or with cilantro and fresh lemon juice – I personally preferred the latter.

This soup was an amazing treat to myself when recovering from the norovirus. It’s one of those things that feel like a hug on the inside (kind of like tea, I guess). I not only loved it, but it went down a storm with the family – that’s including my two year old niece who kept demanding more! Whether it’s a recovery superfood, a netflix and chill type meal, or just because, I hope you enjoy eating it as much as you do making it! Tag me on instagram if you make it or anything else you see on my blog with either the tag #akx95 or on a direct people tag with @akx95!

Leave a Reply

