Sweet Potato Jackets (again)

I’m almost 98% sure that I’ve posted about sweet potato jackets because I have a very vivid memory of pausing my brother mid-ravish to get my picture of it, but I could be wrong, in which case this is not Sweet Potato Jackets again but just Sweet Potato Jackets. Either way, I’m sure you’ll be blown away by this super cute, super quick recipe that will fill your bellies and let you have a moment of amazement  – even if you’re not, just pretend for me, yeah? Thanks.

I would love to say that I made these jackets because I was in a mood to cook or was doing something that sounds even remotely delightful, but actually, my brother walked in with a bag of red potatoes and said “yo can you make me something with these sweet potatoes and then I promise you can take pictures of it for your blog”. It’s only after glowering at him for a few seconds that I even realised he was literally just holding up a sack of normal potatoes and referring to them as sweet potatoes which – if you’ve tasted the difference – is quite a funny statement to make. Anyway, after correcting his complete misuse of potato titles, I decided I was going to be swayed by the fact that he thought about my blog and figured it would be my good deed of the day to make him something to eat. So, here it is. The makeshift recipe for the mindblowingly good sweet potato jackets. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 2 sweet potatoes, washed and dried
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1/2 a tin of tuna, flaked
  • 1 tbsp natural yoghurt
  • 5 olives, sliced
  • 1/2 a red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 lemon, 1/2 juiced and 1/2 cut into wedges
  • 1 Boursin Garlic and Herb portion, crumbled
  • Pinch of black pepper
  • A handful of coriander

Method:

  1. Rub the potatoes with the oil and pierce them with a fork several times. Place in a microwave safe bowl and put in microwave for 6-8 minutes.
  2. When the potatoes have cooled, quarter them without cutting all the way through and place in your serving bowl/plate.
  3. In one, layer the natural yoghurt, tuna flakes, olives, red onions, and pepper.
  4. In the other potato, crumble the Boursin cheese and garnish with a few slices of red onion.
  5. Squeeze the lemon juice over both potatoes and drop in a few wedges of lemon around the serving plate/bowl.
  6. Garnish with coriander and serve!

It’s a yummy and easy recipe that gets a main dish ready within minutes! Sweet potato has an amazing taste so experiment with different flavours and textures until you get one that makes your taste buds explode (and then share it with me!!!).

Leave a Reply

