Fairy Toast

If you follow me on my Instagram account, you’ll know that I’ve been promising to upload something on this blog for a while now but have just not got around to it. I’m not going to lie and say “oh I have assignments due” or “life is super busy at the moment” because neither is true and I have just been very lazy. Anyway, this is my attempt to step out of my absolute laziness and utilise this spring break for something that isn’t pretending to be swamped by the looming deadlines of final assignments of the year.

So folks, (again if you follow my Instagram account, you will have seen me allude to this often) I have been trying my hand at a variety of brunch recipes in a bid to one day host my own pot-luck style brunch club and therefore have come up with one of my favourite and easiest things to make on the planet, and that is what I’ve coined fairy toast! The recipe I’ll share will probably serve 3-4 people as an accompaniment to another item, but served as a main brunch food, it’ll feed 2.

20170403_101252
Look how cute it can look with just some daily summer fruits!

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 slices of bread (I prefer to use seeded because of the extra bite)
  • 1 tbsp cooking oil
  • 1 tbsp natural yoghurt (toppings – add flavoured instead if you’d like!)
  • 1 tbsp honey (toppings)
  • An assortment of fruits (toppings)
  • Icing sugar (toppings)

Method:

  1. Combine the eggs and the honey in a wide bowl.
  2. Heat the oil in a frying pan on medium-low heat.
  3. Using a fork, dip the bread in the egg|honey mixture, coating both sides well.
  4. Place the bread on the pan for 2 minutes and turn over, ensuring both sides are golden brown before removing.
  5. Repeat this for both slices of bread.
  6. Cut the slices diagonally across the middle – you should have 4 slices.
  7. Serve with toppings of honey, natural yoghurt, an assortment of fruits, and a sprinkle of icing sugar.

This recipe is honestly the easiest thing I’ve made in the mornings and has started to slowly make its way into my weekend breakfast routines. The ability to play with the toppings means that you can have this as a staple item all year round and just change up the fruits depending on the season!

Leave a Reply

