Feast and Mishti

My main plan for the reviews on this blog were always to go to the places that people weren’t going to and build a name, but I’ve realised that slowly but surely, I’ve fallen into the trap of eating at places often hyped up by social media. But, I really am going to start trying harder because I have the platform and need to start using it for the right reasons. And I will begin by telling you all about this gem of a Bangladeshi restaurant located in the heart of Whitechapel.

I’m not going to lie to you guys, this place doesn’t have much going for it in terms of looks/interiors/aesthetics, but what it lacks in looks, it definitely makes up for in food. Though my love for aesthetics knows no bounds, I am always a lot more drawn to the tastes and flavours (thankfully, I mean what kinda life would I be leading if my palette was devoid of any spices, ya know what I mean, folks?). All of the food served here is halal and comes from its roots in Bangladesh, and honestly, I love it so much.

Mum and I are always on the hunt for cheap and cheerful places which are filling, pack a punch in flavour, but don’t cost the earth and so this place just fits right in. Located central to the Whitechapel market, it is frequented by an assortment of people, students, families, and sometimes even small-scale party-goers. There are two options when it comes to eating here: a buffet priced at £7.99 (including a drink) or the regular meals/small plates from the menu. While I’ve tried the buffet on previous occasions, I soon realised that I was eating the same few things despite paying for the range and would probably be better off ordering directly from the menu instead of wasting time standing around the counters contemplating whether or not I should try certain things.

I tend to almost always order the kachi biryani with daal, aloo shingaras (because it’s so hot that my nose gets dripping), aloo tikkis (think spicy potato cakes), and pyazis (onion pakoras basically. Those are my absolute go-tos and most of the time, they cost less than a fiver each. Sometimes though, I do dabble in the curries and try the haleem (which is great but could probs benefit with more chicken in it), and the fried fish – which I LOVE – with fried onions. You can have a brief look at their old menu here – it’s not exactly the same anymore, but the core elements remain.

IMG_20170411_145201_501

As pictured above, they are not exclusively a lunch/dinner serving restaurant. Their opening hours which go from 8am to 11pm allow them to dabble in the much loved art of breakfast. I’m not going to beat around the bush with you guys, on the breakfast day I only tried the vegetarian options because I was on a short detox to purge my skin (and stomach), but I have heard great things about everything from both my mother and siblings. They thoroughly enjoyed the variety of curries and small plates available on offer at 10am (when we were there).

I know this is a very roughly written piece, but know that I say this from the bottom of my heart, I love my home foods here and I hope that they will always continue to make me feel like I’m in Bangladesh with their freshly cooked foods and adorable customer service that never arrives without a smile. I hope that you will all spare a moment to give this place a visit because it really is a nice gateway into the art that is the Bengal cuisine.

Here is the map for when you visit:

Leave a Reply

