Vegetable Pulao

Listen guys, I think we have all accepted that I am a disaster when it comes to frequent posting even if I’m visiting different joints or cooking daily. It’s not even that I don’t have time because frankly, sometimes I have too much of it. I think I’m just lazy and I want it to be great but at the same time I’m umming and ahhing and you know what, this sounds more like a description of my life so far instead of just this blog’s journey, haha. But, I have a plan. Since Ramadan is fast approaching and I would actually like to make the most of my time, I’m making meal plans well in advance with recipes included and sitting in the drafts here so that once I make them, I can literally just take a picture and upload it! 

In the meantime though, enjoy this one pot vegetable pulao I had a blast making for a super cute and empowering women’s lunch!

Ingredients:

  • 5 cups basmati rice
  • 2 tbsp oil/ghee
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 star anise
  • ½ tsp jeera
  • 3 green cardamoms
  • 6 cloves
  • 2 inch cinnamon stick
  • 1 medium onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 green chillies, slit lengthways
  • 1 garlic clove, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp ginger, grated
  • 1 tbsp mint sauce/handful of mint leaves
  • 1 ½ cups chopped vegetables
  • salt to taste
  • 3 cups water

Method:

  1. Wash and soak rice for at least 15 mins. Drain water and set aside.
  2. In a medium/large saucepan, saute the dry spices in hot oil/ghee until they start to sizzle.
  3. Saute onions until golden brown.
  4. Add the ginger and garlic and let infuse with onions until there is no raw smell.
  5. Add all the chopped veggies and mint, stir in and leave for 2-3 minutes.
  6. Add the water and salt and bring to a rolling boil.
  7. Add the drained rice and stir into the mixture.
  8. Cook the rice on a medium flame until the water evaporates. While rice is still soggy, cover with a lid and lower the flame. Cook on low heat for a further 5 mins and then switch off the stove.
  9. Fluff up the rice with a fork and garnish with fried onions and/or some coriander. Serve hot with a raita.

    As always, if you make it, let me know! All my social media links are available somewhere along the top or bottom of this site. Happy cooking, my loves! 

    Leave a Reply

    