Caramel Tarts

If there’s anything I like more than cooking savoury foods, it’s cheat dessert recipes. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I absolutely LOVE making things from scratch, but desserts can sometimes make me throw in the towel. The intricacy and level of detail that goes into getting that perfect pastry or the runny consistency of syrup or the richness of buttercream, it’s all waaaay beyond me. I like solid things that are quick, easy, and are at an amateur level of cooking but look like they’ve had a lot of thought put into it, if ya know what I mean.

Anyway, one of those things that really test me are caramel tarts. I love eating it and have done since those primary school lunches on a Friday, but it’s not until now that I’ve learnt to master them without wanting to break down into tears – the back story you’re missing here: the first ever time I made caramel tarts, my brother tried to ‘help’ and ended up over-mixing my caramel mixture and cracking my pastry, but I’m not bitter about it or anything…

The recipe I have for you guys today makes about 18 mini tarts, BUT I am pretty sure the last time I made this, my ingredients yielded double the number of tarts so I guess it depends on how many you want to make at that given time. Also, you can absolutely trade in the mini size for a larger pastry case and make it a sharing dessert!

Call this recipe a life hack, a cheat’s recipe, an amateur’s guide to success… whichever shoe fits to be honest. Either way, you’ll enjoy it and so will whoever else you choose to (or not to) share them with.

Ingredients:

  • Sweet pastry cases (I get the Sainsbury’s version with 18 mini cases in a pack)
  • Carnation Caramel (198g/18 mini tarts)
  • Chocolate vermicelli

Method:

  1. Open the tin of caramel and stir well with a spoon until there is a thick but runny consistency.
  2. Using a teaspoon, spoon in the caramel into each pastry case.
  3. Top with a few strands of chocolate vermicelli and leave in the fridge to set for 20-30 minutes. (these can keep for up to 5 days)

I told you, super quick and super easy! No fuss desserts will forever have a place in my heart and I hope I can keep finding new ones to try out for you guys!

Leave a Reply

